Page 1 of 49 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 486

Thread: Broadcom Wireless Setup for Hardy (Step by step)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Beans
    20
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Talking Broadcom Wireless Setup for Hardy (Step by step)

    I used the following steps to enable my Broadcom Wireless BCM4312 (rev 02).

    Step 1 (run in terminal)

    echo 'blacklist bcm43xx' | sudo tee -a /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist
    sudo apt-get install ndiswrapper-utils-1.9
    mkdir ~/bcm43xx; cd ~/bcm43xx


    For Step 2, You can check your Broadcom wireless version with this command in terminal : "lspci | grep Broadcom\ Corporation",if your wireless device is different from BCM4312 (rev 02), please refer to the following link for this step and you can continue again with step 3 onwards:

    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Wi...f971ca757b2851



    Step 2 (run in terminal)

    sudo apt-get install cabextract
    wget ftp://ftp.compaq.com/pub/softpaq/sp3...00/sp34152.exe
    cabextract sp34152.exe


    Step 3 (run in terminal)

    sudo ndiswrapper -i bcmwl5.inf
    ndiswrapper -l
    sudo depmod -a
    sudo modprobe ndiswrapper
    sudo cp /etc/network/interfaces /etc/network/interfaces.orig
    echo -e 'auto lo\niface lo inet loopback\n' | sudo tee /etc/network/interfaces
    sudo ndiswrapper -m
    echo 'ndiswrapper' | sudo tee -a /etc/modules
    echo 'ENABLED=0' | sudo tee -a /etc/default/wpasupplicant


    Step 4 (run in terminal)

    sudo aptitude remove b43-fwcutter

    Step 5 (run in terminal)

    sudo gedit /etc/init.d/wirelessfix.sh

    Step 6

    Paste the followings in the opened file(wirelessfix.sh)and make sure you save it before continuing Step 7

    #!/bin/bash
    modprobe -r b44
    modprobe -r b43
    modprobe -r b43legacy
    modprobe -r ssb
    modprobe -r ndiswrapper
    modprobe ndiswrapper
    modprobe b44

    Step 7 (run in terminal)

    Run this :

    cd /etc/init.d/ && sudo chmod 755 wirelessfix.sh

    Step 8 (run in terminal)

    finally run this:

    sudo update-rc.d wirelessfix.sh defaults

    Step 9

    Restart your machine and enjoy the freedom from those wires....
    Last edited by alex_kent_18; May 1st, 2008 at 10:57 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    16

    Re: Broadcom Wireless Setup for Hardy (Step by step)

    THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU. Several sleepless nights solved here. Wireless works fine on my WMP54GS card now (4306 v3) thanks to you. Well done.

    Jay

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    23

    Re: Broadcom Wireless Setup for Hardy (Step by step)

    That worked for my broadcom 4306 rev 03. Thanks a ton. asside: What the hell kind of an upgrade breaks both my wireless and ipod support?
    Last edited by bfkeats; April 27th, 2008 at 03:43 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Broadcom Wireless Setup for Hardy (Step by step)

    Which driver did you guys use for the 4306 rev 03? I see a download for the 4306 and the 4306 rev 02 on the linked page, but not the rev 03. Do either of you have and AMD 64 machine? And is your wireless interface wlan0, eth1, something else?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    23

    Re: Broadcom Wireless Setup for Hardy (Step by step)

    I used Step 2b from the link provided.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Broadcom Wireless Setup for Hardy (Step by step)

    Quote Originally Posted by bfkeats View Post
    I used Step 2b from the link provided.
    Me too, but with no luck. Ubuntu AMD 64 or 32?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Beans
    7,585
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Broadcom Wireless Setup for Hardy (Step by step)

    Please post the exact steps and output from the steps you tried. Without this its going to be hard for someone to help you.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Broadcom Wireless Setup for Hardy (Step by step)

    Actually, it seems to be working now. Not sure why it wasn't before. I've rebooted, tried switching between no security and WPA and it seems to work consistently.

    One thing I can't get to work that worked really well in 7.10 is a static IP. Anyone have any luck setting a static IP?

    Edit: Static IP does work.
    Last edited by mlaird; May 5th, 2008 at 05:10 AM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Broadcom Wireless Setup for Hardy (Step by step)

    Great post, thanks My previous ndiswrapper driver was locking up my computer but this one seems to work fine.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Beans
    101
    Distro
    Kubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: Broadcom Wireless Setup for Hardy (Step by step)

    Thanks for this, I got it all to work after trying many other methods. I wasn't able to see wireless until I issued this command:

    Code:
    sudo iwconfig wlan0

Page 1 of 49 12311 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •