Thread: wine and dreamboxedit

Beans

wine and dreamboxedit

I installed the wine program to run the dreamboxedit program on Ubuntu 22.04, but when I install the program, the dreamboxedit program does not run.
    I installed the netscanner program to test it. It was installed and run, but the program does not display any network information.
    Since I am new to Linux, I said that maybe the wine version was installed, it is not correct because I had previously installed the dreamboxedit program on KDE and it worked.
    what should I do now ?

Code:
    eza@reza-vaio:~$ wine --version 
    wine-6.0.3 (Ubuntu 6.0.3~repack-1)

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

Re: wine and dreamboxedit

I'm perplexed. You state the you are new to Linux, yet you've been a forum member since 2009.

WINE is a complex platform that does not work consistently with Windows apps and should not be considered a reliable substitute for Windows.

Since you are new to Linux, you may find it worth your while to read the link in my sig: Linux Is Not Windows.

I successfully use WINE for many Windows programs, but I have realistic expectations and approach it with the attitude that I am lucky when it works. For truly mission critical Windows apps, I run them in a Virtual Machine of Windows, which guarantees that the app will work. The only Windows apps that I run on WINE are games and other non‑essentials that don't bother me greatly if they fail.

Other forum members have had good results running the commercial version of WINE, CrossOver. Others have also had good luck with the WINE derivative, Proton, but that is mainly (only?) for games.