Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: run process with higher priority

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Beans
    380

    run process with higher priority

    I notice that Firefox responds faster if reniced to -15. Only root can reschedule processes. How can I get FF to startup under this priority. Currently I have to type at the bash prompt:

    $ ps -e
    $ sudo renice -15 ff.process.number

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Beans
    12,497
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: run process with higher priority

    Code:
    nice -n -15 firefox

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Beans
    380

    Re: run process with higher priority

    Quote Originally Posted by lovinglinux View Post
    Code:
    nice -n -15 firefox
    Except only root can reschedule a process up ..

    This works. The problem was that I was typing 'nice -15', instead of 'nice -n -15', as renice only requires a 'renice -15' and I got confused .. always read the FM ..

    sudo nice -n -15 firefox

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Beans
    12,497
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: run process with higher priority

    Quote Originally Posted by ymitchell View Post
    sudo nice -n -15 firefox
    I'm not sure, but that wouldn't launch firefox as root too?

    Running firefox with sudo can cause lots of profile issues.
    Last edited by lovinglinux; October 20th, 2009 at 02:06 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: run process with higher priority

    Quote Originally Posted by lovinglinux View Post
    I'm not sure, but that wouldn't launch firefox as root too?

    Running firefox with sudo can cause lots of profile issues.
    Yes and yes (it will run ff as root, which is not a good idea)

    A solution can be based on this I think:
    https://lists.ubuntu.com/archives/ku...er/020275.html

    Replace audicity with firefox and change sudo to gksudo so you get popup asking the pw.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Beans
    1,610
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: run process with higher priority

    *I* would add an option to /usr/bin/firefox to renice the actual binary after it has been started and detached.

    Maybe "--windows3.1mode" would be appropriate.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Beans
    380

    Re: run process with higher priority

    Quote Originally Posted by lovinglinux View Post
    I'm not sure, but that wouldn't launch firefox as root too? Running firefox with sudo can cause lots of profile issues.
    Quote Originally Posted by Giblet5 View Post
    *I* would add an option to /usr/bin/firefox to renice the actual binary after it has been started and detached.

    Maybe "--windows3.1mode" would be appropriate.
    Good idea ...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Beans
    12,497
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: run process with higher priority

    Quote Originally Posted by ymitchell View Post
    Good idea ...
    You probably need to fix Firefox profile permissions by now.

    Code:
    sudo chown -R $USER:$USER $HOME/.mozilla

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •